Friday, 17 April 2015 10:31

Christer Segerstéen resigns as Chairman of Södra

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

2015 04 17 103225Christer Segersteén is resigning from his position as Chairman of Södra after a total of 24 years on the Board. The Nomination Committee has proposed Lena Ek as new Chairman, and Hans Berggren as new Board member.

Christer Segersteén was Vice Chairman for 18 years and Chairman for four. In 2015, he will turn 65.

“I have spent many fun, exciting and challenging years with Södra. Södra is now moving forward, with a new Group strategy under new management. Although I will miss Södra, it’s time for others to take over and it feels satisfying to hand over a company that is stable, profitable and financially sound.”

“The proposals that the Nomination Committee will now present to the AGM will ensure that the Board is composed of appropriate and highly competent members, who also represent renewal. Lena Ek has an extensive background in politics and has served on the Board of Södra for 10 years. Hans Berggren has extensive experience in the industry, as well as in cooperative enterprises. Both are forest owners and members of Södra,” says Nomination Committee Chairman, Tomas Andersson.

Lena Ek has worked politically at municipal, county, national and EU levels, and serves on the Board of the Swedish Centre Party as well as the Party’s Executive Committee. She was Minister for the Environment from 2011-2014 under the Swedish Alliance government and since the election in 2014, has been a Member of the Riksdag and Deputy Chair of the Committee on Environment and Agriculture. Lena Ek has been a member of Södra for many years, and owns forest properties outside Mönsterås where she grew up. She served on Södra’s Board from 2000-2010. She was born in 1958, has a degree in international law, and lives in Valdemarsvik.

“Södra is an important organisation and means a lot to us as members. Whatever forest owners do, they can always turn to Södra, and the value that Södra generates for us as its owners is fantastic. The forest and forest fibre have enormous potential in terms of new products and new markets. It is an honour to be recommended by the Nomination Committee,” said Lena Ek.

The proposed new Board member is Hans Berggren, President of the co-operative association Sveriges Stärkelseproducenter and its three subsidiaries Lyckeby Culinar AB, Lyckeby Starch AB and Kockens AB. The Group generates sales of SEK 1.2 billion and sells products to the paper and food industries. Hans Berggren was born in 1956, is an agronomist and lives outside Karlshamn.

Anders Grennborg, 62, is resigning from the Board after 13 years, and Caroline Sundewall after five years.

The proposed re-elections to the Board are Marie Hallén and Ola Hildingsson.

Södra’s Annual General Meeting will be held on 19 May in Växjö.

For questions, please contact:

Tomas Andersson, Chairman of the Nomination Committee, tel: +46 (0)70-65 340 70

Christer Segerstéen, Chairman, tel: +46 (0)70-637 98 20

Annica Gerentz, Director of Communications at Södra, tel: +46 (0)70-398 42 09

Read the interview with Södra’s outgoing Chairman at

Read 1516 times